Oglethorpe Power recognized as Friend of Education

Dr. Mike Hickman, Bill Foley, Diane McLearin, Nolan Howard

Thr Friend of Education award recognizes those business and community partners who have made a significant impact on education through their giving and service. The Monroe County BOE was proud to present the Friend of Education award to Oglethorpe Power at the August 13 Board of Education meeting. Oglethorpe Power has sponsored professional learning opportunities for our CTAE teachers and donated funds for multiple projects including building an electric car. In addition, they have provided field trip opportunities for our students at the Georgia EMC training center in Smarr. Through the Georgia Energy and Industrial Construction Consortium, or GEICC, Oglethorpe Power has supported CTAE pathways by sponsoring Careers in Energy Week and provided career outreach support to counselors, teachers, and students interested in utility industry careers. They have also worked to bring industry professionals to speak about careers and the skills necessary to work in industry. Representatives from Oglethorpe Power serve on the CTAE Advisory Council as well as the Superintendent’s Parent and Community Advisory Council, providing valuable input on behalf of the utility industry. Last year, Oglethorpe Power began helping our school system with our Reach Scholarship Program. This program targets upcoming 8th graders and provides college scholarship opportunities to students, many of whom will be the first person in their family to attend college. Each scholarship costs the participating school system $3,500. Last year. Oglethorpe Power sponsored one of these scholarships, but we are happy to announce that this year they were able to sponsor two scholarships through their generous donation of $7,000 to this meaningful program. The Monroe County BOE deeply appreciates all Oglethrope Power has done and continues to do with supporting student and staff success in Monroe County Schools. The following employees and partners of Oglethorpe Power attended the meeting to accept this award. Bill Foley- Resident Manager at Plant Scherer and Diane McLearin- Director of Communication and External Affairs at Oglethorpe Power.

Dr. Mike Hickman - Superintendent of Monroe County Schools; Bill Foley- Resident Manager at Plant Scherer; Diane McLearin - Director of Communication and External Affairs at Oglethorpe Power; Nolan Howard - Chairman Monroe County Board of Education
Planning for success