Monroe County Schools Named National Beta District of Distinction

Monroe County Schools Logo

Forsyth, GA – National Beta is proud to announce Monroe County Schools as a 2021-2022 National District of Distinction. This award is given to those deserving districts who offer National Beta in all schools in their district, and who induct qualifying students in all eligible grades (4‐12). Monroe County is one of only 36 districts to receive this award nationwide.

Through the exceptional efforts of Superintendent Dr. Mike Hickman, club sponsors and deserving Beta members, Monroe County has flourished since the district’s initial Beta charter. This national award speaks highly of Monroe County’s commitment to academic excellence, leadership development and service involvement, and illustrates their dedication to preparing students for college, and career readiness. The students in their district understand the importance of these qualities and exemplify the Beta motto, Let Us Lead by Serving Others.

“We are extremely proud of our students for their hard work in achieving this prestigious award. Thanks to our teachers and parents as well for their support and guidance as our students reach high levels of success in the classroom.” commented the Superintendent Dr. Mike Hickman.

Award recipients received a National Beta District of Distinction award to proudly display at their district office. In addition, National Beta District of Distinction principals received a plaque to display at their school.

About National Beta: National Beta is the largest independent, non-profit, educational youth organization in America. Since its beginnings in 1934, National Beta has been committed to providing students with a positive experience in a supportive manner in grades 4-12. The organization recognizes outstanding achievement, promotes character and social responsibility, encourages service involvement to school and community, and fosters leadership skills.

For more information about National Beta, visit

Image of the Beta District of Distinction Badge