Multi-Level System of Supports (MTSS)


A Multi-Level Prevention System is a framework designed to provide support matched to student need to maximize student achievement and reduce behavior problems. The Tiered System of Supports for Students includes schoolwide implementation that focuses on the “what and how of instruction” and the provision of services and supports to students that meet their unique, whole child needs. A multi-level prevention system includes three levels of intensity or prevention that includes high-quality core instruction and evidence-based interventions and supports. The levels are:

  • Tier I: Primary Level – Instruction/Core Curriculum 
  • Tier II: Secondary Level – Intervention
  • Tier III: Tertiary Level - Intensive Intervention. Essential Component: Multi-Level Prevention System
tier 1
tier 2
tier 3
Whole Child